Current Favorites: Hair Care

1

I’m not someone who likes to spend a lot of time fussing over my hair, which is why it’s important to use high quality products that allow me to cut down on styling time. I like to use products that enable me to wear my hair completely natural if I don’t want to curl or straighten it with heat tools that day.

I’ve been a huge fan of Bumble and Bumble products for a couple years now, but I was recently introduced to a new brand that I love just as much: Monat.

First I’ll tell you a little bit about my hair, then I’ll tell you about the products I’ve been using.

My hair is naturally light brown, with some lighter balayage highlights that were added over a year ago. I would say it’s decently long (comes down to the top of my chest) and has a natural wave. When I wear my hair curly, people always comment about how “big” it is – but really it’s not at all. I have a lot of hair, but it’s made up of very thin strands. So therefore, I have thin hair. Does that make sense?

I don’t straighten it very often. If I do style it, I typically use a 1.5″ curling iron or wand. The reason I try not to style it with heat too much is because my hair is a bit dry, so for the past year, I’ve been trying to restore it, make it look shinier, and just use less heat in general. Oh, I should also mention that I finally stopped washing my hair every day like I did for a long time! It’s been a year or so since I stopped doing that – thank goodness. That’s also probably why it’s dry. Yikes!

These three products have really helped bring my hair back to life:

  1. Renew Shampoo – Before I talk about what this has done to my hair, I just need to tell you that IT SMELLS AMAZING. Like, really amazing. It reminds me of how my favorite hotel on Earth, Hotel Villa Franca in Positano, Italy, smelled. So needless to say, it brings back wonderful memories every time I shampoo my hair. I lather a decent amount of this shampoo into my scalp and ends for a few minutes. It’s a hydrating and moisturizing cleanser, so I like to spend at least a few minutes really working it into my head and hair. Since using this product for the past two months, I’ve noticed my hair looks more moisturized and shiny.

2. Replenish Masque – Once I’m done shampooing, I like to take a small handful of the masque and smooth onto my hair, focusing primarily on the middle to end of my hair (I personally don’t put on my roots because I never apply conditioner there since my hair gets oily on the top). This also smells really good, FYI. I leave it in for the rest of the time I’m in the shower, while I wash my body, shave, and wash my face. Once I’m ready to hop out of the shower, I will rinse the masque out of my hair. The directions say to use once or twice a week, but since I normally only wash my hair twice a week, I use this each time. This leaves my hair feeling very smooth and I’ve noticed a difference in the texture.

3. Restore Leave-In Conditioner – After I am out of the shower, it’s time to comb through my hair. This is where I’ve been using the leave-in conditioner. This has been the first time I think I’ve ever used a leave-in conditioner, and I’ve really been liking it. I spray this evenly throughout my hair, then comb it through with my big hair pick. Then I proceed to style my hair as usual, for whatever type of look I’m going for that day. If you didn’t just wash your hair but still want some added hydration, you can also use this leave-in conditioner on dry hair!

Another product that I’ve been using and loving from Monat, but don’t necessarily use every day or as part of my shower routine, has been the Restyle Instant Sculpting Taffy. I take a TINY amount and rub between my palms, then apply to the appropriate part of my hair. For example, I will apply this to fly aways if I am wearing my hair in a sleek ponytail or bun, or I will apply this to my roots if my hair is looking kind of crazy and needs to be tamed.

I hope you enjoyed this review! What hair products have you been loving lately?

makeup-by-caitlyn-michelle

Leave a Reply

